ANTI-CLIMAX: [email protected]: Sarkodie Wins Artiste of the Decade – See Full List of Winners

The 20th Vodafone Ghana Music Awards dubbed “VGMAs @20″ came off on Saturday 18th May 2019 at the new Dome  of the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) in Accra.

The event was amazingly started with a phenomenally seamless red-carpet session hosted by 3FM’s Drive host, Giovani Caleb and Sika Osei, ushering in the main event hosted by ace broadcaster, Kwame Sefa Kayi partnered by GHOne TV’s Berla Mundi.

The annual award event opened with a performance of the new theme song of the awards – ‘Our Music Lives’. The song was performed by Amandzeba, Adina, Akwaboah Jnr, Empress Gifty and Teephlow.

The night which celebrates the hard work of musicians in the country also saw some great performances from the Legendary Amakye Dede, Kidi, Kwesi Arthur, Efya, King Promise, Sarkodie, Sidney, Kuami Eugene, Burna Boy from Nigeria and many more.

The most unfortunate highlight of the entire event happened in the course of the programme as pandemonium erupted between Stonebwoy and Shatta Wale on stage shortly after Stonebwoy was announced the winner of ‘Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year’.

An unhappy Shatta Wale and his fans got off their seat and made their way to the podium but were stopped by stonebwoy and his fans which led to a brawl.

Stonebwoy reportedly pulled a gun on stage while the security present sprayed pepper in the auditorium in an attempt to prevent a full-blown fight.

Patrons had to run out of the auditorium as they could not breath due to the pepper.

The show continued after some break.

We’re hearing Artiste of the Year and Song of the Year Categories have reportedly been put on hold.

The annual Awards recognises the works of musicians and producers who have excelled during the year under review of the awards – January 1 to December 31, 2018.

As ever your most authoritative media fillas portal, has all the list of winners below:

Artiste of the Year –

Song of the Year –

Artiste of the Decade – Sarkodie

Album of the Year – Kuami Eugene

New Artiste of the Year – Wendy Shay

Gospel Song of the Year – Mo Ne Yo (by Diana Antwi Hamilton)

Gospel Artiste of the Year – Diana Antwi Hamilton

Highlife Song of the Year – My Level (by Shatta Wale)

Hiplife Hip-hop Artiste of the Year – Medikal

Highlife Artiste of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Hiplife Song of the Year – Obiaa Wo Ne Master (by Yaa Pono)

Best Male Vocal Performance of the Year – Kidi (Thunder)

Best Female Vocal Performance of the Year – Efya (Hold me down)

Afro Pop Song of the Year – Akwaaba (by Guiltybeatz x Mr eazi x Patapaa x Pappy Kojo)

Rapper of the Year –  Medikal

Hiphop Song of the Year – Anthem (by Kwesi Arthur)

Song Writer of the Year – King Promise (CCTV)

Music Producer of the Year – Kuami Eugene

Music Video of the Year – Come and See My Mother (by MzVe ft Yemi Alade)

Song Engineer of the Year – Francis Kweku Osei (Hye me bo by Akwaboah)

African Artiste of the Year – Burna Boy 

Best African Collaboration of the Year – Akwaaba (by Guiltybeatz x Mr eazi x Patapaa x Pappy Kojo)

Collaboration of the Year – Stonebwoy x Kwesi Arthur x Darko Vibes

Group of the Year – Bethel Revival Choir

Record of the Year – Hye me bo (by Akwaboah)

Raggae Dancehall Song of the Year – Gringo (by Shatt Wale)

Raggae Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy

Unsung Artiste of the Year – Kula

Traditional Artiste of the Year – Kwan pa

Instrumentalist of the Year – Mizter Okyere 

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients –
Rev. Dr. Mary Ghansah
Mr. Jackson Alfred Adofo (Obuoba J.A Adofo)
Professor Kofi Abraham


Source: Evans Ofori/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Blue Captcha Image